How to wipe and reset your iPhone to factory settings before trading it in

How to wipe and reset your iPhone to factory settings before trading it in

Hello Geeky, so today we are focusing on How to wipe and reset your iPhone to factory settings before trading it in. So please read this tutorial carefully so you may comprehend it in a better helpful way.

Guide: How to wipe and reset your iPhone to factory settings before trading it in

Whether you’re getting an iPhone 13, iPhone 12 or one of the amazing Android phones available right now, a new phone is exciting. But after the thrill wears off, you’re left to decide what to do with your old phone. If it’s still in working order, you have several options that range from trading it in to save some cash, selling it to a random stranger, or repurposing it. However, before you hand it over to someone else or drop it off at FedEx, there’s still some work you’ll need to do.

Before you can even begin to think about giving your phone to someone else, you need to take some time to wipe and reset it to factory settings. Doing so will ensure that nobody has access to the treasure trove of personal information we all keep on our phones. Below, I’ll walk you through steps you need to take before resetting your phone, and I’ll show you the reset process.

Stop! You need to back up your iPhone before doing anything else

Before you reset your iPhone, create a backup that you can use to set up your new iPhone, and which you can return to if you’re missing contacts or photos on your new phone. You can back up your iPhone by connecting it to your Mac and following these steps, or use iTunes on a PC to back it up.

Alternatively, you can use iCloud to back up your phone by going to Settings > tap on your name at the top of the page > iCloud > iCloud Backup > Back up now. This backup method can take a while, depending on how long it’s been since you’ve backed up your phone, but it’s dead simple.

Just make sure to keep your phone connected to a Wi-Fi network and on a charger to prevent the backup from draining the battery.

After the backup is complete, here are a few more things you should do:

  • Sign out of all apps and services. It’s time-consuming but worth the effort to go through each app and service you’re signed into and log out.
  • Remove any email, contacts or calendar accounts from your device in Settings > Mail/Contacts/Calendar > Accounts.
  • If you haven’t already, remove your SIM card. If your new phone came with a new SIM card, destroy your old one and throw it away. If you’ve been using an eSIM, make sure you remove or deactivate it.

All right, now you can reset your iPhone

With your phone backed up and all of your accounts removed, factory reset it by opening the Settings app. Then tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings and confirm your decision. You’ll be asked to enter your phone’s PIN code, followed by your Apple ID password to turn off Apple’s Find My service.

After entering your password, the screen will go dark and the Apple logo along with a progress bar will show up. A few minutes later, you’ll be greeted with a screen with “Hello” in different languages flashing on it, indicating the reset was a success.

With your phone now wiped and ready for a new owner, you can send it on its way with peace of mind that your information is no longer on your phone.

Faq

Guide about How to wipe and reset your iPhone to factory settings before trading it in


In this guide, we told you about the How to wipe and reset your iPhone to factory settings before trading it in; please read all steps above so that you understand How to wipe and reset your iPhone to factory settings before trading it in in case if you need any assistance from us, then contact us.

How this tutorial or guide assisting you?


So in this guide, we discuss the How to wipe and reset your iPhone to factory settings before trading it in, which undoubtedly benefits you.




Final note

I hope you like the guide How to wipe and reset your iPhone to factory settings before trading it in. In case if you have any queries regards this article/tutorial you may ask us. Also, please share your love by sharing this article with your friends and family.

Trickbugs: Get the latest Trick and Tips
Logo
Enable registration in settings - general