Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space on iOS

Read the tutorial on how to turn off My Photo Stream to free up more than 1GB of space in iOS

After many inquiries from our users, here is a guide on how to turn off My Photo Stream to free up more than 1 GB of storage space in iOS.

Photo Stream is undoubtedly a useful part of iCloud for users with multiple iOS devices. However, it has a feature that is often not used and it can waste your precious capacity on small iOS devices. This love or hate function is the album “Mein Fotostream”. It’s turned on by default and is designed to automatically sync your last 1000 photos between your iOS devices or a Mac with iPhoto. Sounds good, right? When you only have a handful of devices and you want those latest photos to be automatically synced between your iPhone, iPad and Mac. In these multi-device situations, you’ll smile like the feature’s Apple promotional image as it seamlessly syncs your images back and forth:

But what if you only have an iPhone (or iPad, iPod touch) and treat it like a standard digital camera with one camera, manually transferring photos to a computer or automatically backing up the images to the cloud using another service like Dropbox ? This is exactly when the “My Photo Stream” function becomes disruptive. This problem with My Photo Stream is often overlooked. However, instead of simply copying the 1000 most recent photos to iCloud, My Photo Stream duplicates those 1000 photos and stores an exact copy of them in its own album on the same device as the Photos app. Yes you’ve read correctly. If My Photo Stream is turned on on your iPhone and you are using your iPhone (or iPod or iPad) to take photos, there are likely 1000 duplicate pictures on the device, wasting at least 1GB of capacity. Users with the 64GB iPhone model might not care much, but 16GB or 32GB users often feel trapped and often try to free up as much space as possible, which is why this can be a good feature.

First of all, you probably want to see how much space My Photo Stream is using on your device by monitoring usage:

  • Open the settings and go to “General”.
  • Select “Usage” then “Photos”. Look for the “My Photo Stream” option

My photo stream is wasting space

If you’re using your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch as the main camera and haven’t synced photos from another device, don’t be surprised if the size is 1GB or a little more. Yes, 1 GB duplicate photos. Let’s get rid of that.

Deactivate “My Photo Stream” and delete the photo album with duplicate pictures

  1. Open Settings and go to Photos and Camera.
  2. Set “My Photo Stream” to “OFF”
  3. Confirm that you want to disable My Photo Stream and delete the My Photo Stream album

Disable the photo stream and delete

Take a moment to complete the process as it takes a second or two to erase 1GB of data. When you’re done, go back to Photos and Albums and the My Photo Stream album will be deleted with all duplicates. You can also check usage again to confirm that space has been reclaimed.

It’s important to understand what disabling the My Photo Stream feature does:

  • Deletes the My Photo Stream album and removes any duplicate photos from the iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch
  • Prevents the 1000 latest pictures from being automatically synced with other iOS devices or iPhoto on a Mac
  • Prevents direct Finder access to the photo stream using the search type trick

However, turning off My Photo Stream does not affect any other Photo Stream features, such as: B. the following:

  • You can still use most of the features of Photo Streams, including creating new streams, sharing and commenting on existing photo streams with friends, family, and other iOS users
  • You can still use Photo Stream to create public websites using pictures from your iOS device

Since we want to save the capacity of 1 GB +, the function to switch off is desired. If you like the auto-sync feature and use it regularly, you don’t want to. Know what you are using and what you don’t need. There is no one-size-fits-all facility for this feature, although ideally Apple could tweak it a bit to stop causing the duplicate image problem.

WAITING! Are you a Mac user? If you’ve enabled iCloud with Photo Stream on OS X and you also manually copy your photos to your computer, you can also lose tons of storage space duplicating photos. Here’s how to do this for OS X and possibly the free space on your desktop or laptop as well. In our written example, over 18 GB (!) Was restored by the function.

Deselect My Photo Stream to free up more than 1 GB of space in the iOS manual. Is this for free?

From: Free
This guide is a free model
Free Trial: May be included, please check the official website we mentioned above.
Turning off “My Photo Stream” to free up more than 1GB of space in the iOS tutorial is “Free” or “Freemium”. This means that you can really enjoy turning “My Photo Stream” off to free up more than 1GB of space in the iOS manual.

Disabling My Photo Stream to free up more than 1GB of storage space in iOS provides you with easy and efficient management. If you turn off My Photo Stream to free up more than 1 GB of storage space in iOS, you can focus on what matters most. It’s a friendly guide that you might love. If you turn off My Photo Stream to free up more than 1 GB of space in the iOS tutorial, you can use it on Linux, Windows, or Android devices.

Turn off My Photo Stream to free up more than 1GB of space in iOS: Benefits

  • Turning off My Photo Stream to free up more than 1GB of space in the iOS tutorial is free.
  • Helps many users get interested in time.
  • The price of disabling “My Photo Stream” to free up more than 1 GB of storage space in the iOS manual is free.

Uncheck “My Photo Stream” to free up more than 1GB of space in iOS: FAQ

Tutorial Summary: Turn off My Photo Stream to free up more than 1GB of space in iOS

In this guide, we’ve explained how to turn off My Photo Stream to free up more than 1 GB of storage space in iOS. Please read all the steps to understand that you need to turn off My Photo Stream to free up more than 1GB of storage space in iOS. If you need any help from us, please contact us.

How does this tutorial help you?

So this guide explains how to turn off My Photo Stream to free up more than 1GB of space in iOS, which will undoubtedly help you.

In what actual time is this method completed?

The time to complete disabling My Photo Stream to free up more than 1GB of space in the iOS tutorial is more than 10 minutes.

What is the supported device?

What is the supported operating system?


Deselect My Photo Stream to free up more than 1 GB of space in the iOS tutorial: last note

For our visitors: If you have any questions about how to turn off “My Photo Stream” to free up more than 1GB of space in iOS, please ask us using the comments section below or contact us directly.
Education: This guide or tutorial is for educational purposes only.
Misinformation: If you would like to correct any misinformation about the instructions “Disable” My Photo Stream “to free up more than 1 GB of storage space in iOS”, please contact us.
Would you like to add an alternate method?: If anyone would like to add more methods to the guide, please turn off “My Photo Stream” to free up more than 1GB of space in iOS and contact us.
Our contact: Please use our contact page for any help. You can also use our social networks and accounts by following the instructions below Whatsapp, Facebook, and Twitter for your questions. We’re always happy to help. We answer your questions within 24-48 hours (weekend free).
Channel: If you want the latest software updates and software discussions in your pocket, please find ours here Telegram channel.

Trickbugs - Get the latest Trick and Tips